AAHGS 37th National Conference

Last weekend I attended the Afro-American Historical and Genealogical (aka AAHGS) Conference in aahgs-confAtlanta, Georgia.  This year, the conference was hosted by the Atlanta Metro Chapter of AAHGS.

Being my first national genealogy conference I was really looking forward to meeting some fellow family historians (I don’t think of myself as a genealogist yet), learning some new techniques for finding ancestors and learning more about African American history.

One of the classes that I was excited about attending was, Why Every Family Historian Should Have a Blog, taught by Andie Criminger.

Andie started the class with a quote that actually summed up the need for a family blog:

Preserve your memories
Keep them well
What you forget
You can never retell

– Louisa Mae Alcott

Now, while I’m new to genealogy, I’m not new to blogging, so I thought I’d dust off the old blogging fingers and start anew.

My plan for this blog is to share my mother’s side of the family (the Harris’); my father’s side of the family (the Washington’s) and my other family (the Belyeu’s).  Of course mixed in are other surnames like Perryman, Mitchell, Turner, Rice/Ryce, Sanders and Smith.

2 thoughts on “AAHGS 37th National Conference

  1. Valerie,
    Thank you so much for sharing your journey. I have also been collecting information for my family. Please continue sharing, this is very encouraging and inspirational.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment